Thursday, 1 November 2018


Title: Shadowlore Compilation One [V/A]
Format: An online compilation released through the Shadow Dungeon Synth website on 31 October 2018.  This is an offshoot of the Hollow Myths label, through whose online shop one can purchase a t-shirt for this compilation listing the various bands on its reverse.  There is no physical release of this album at the current date.
Edition: Unlimited download (choose your own price)

Track Listing: 
01. Garadrak  *  Mist in Briars  04:55
02. Fåntratt  *  Nakna Träd I Brandgult Hav  04:16
03. Dwalin  *  Arcanes & Wisdom of the High Warlock Cosmic Order  06:08
04. Umbría  *  Descenso a la cámara de la estrella exhumada  06:27
05. Silencio Permanente  *  Medianoche, oscura medianoche  01:54
06. Charnel Oubliette  *  Funeral Creep  02:55
07. Thyne Lyght Illusory  *  Glittering Monolith Of Salvation  07:36
08. Vandalorum  *  The Path Revealed  03:43
09. Moonolith  *  The Dying Witch on the Lake  02:43
10. Rêvoeil  *  Dance of Doom  02:18
11. Hekate  *  The Last Spell  11:55
12. 1818  *  Hellscape  04:15
13. ELRIM  *  A Doleful Existence  02:24
14. Cryptdweller  *  Cavern Arpeggiator  03:52
15. Vampire Tower  *  Down to the Crypt  07:59
16. Dryads  *  Riddles, Wisdom and Stones  05:56
17. Gatekeeper  *  For They Never Left This Place  06:00
18. Machina Coeli  *  Approaching The Forgotten Lake  04:00
19. Sombre Arcane and Khand  *  The Forges of Sokol Keep  04:20
20. Psuchagōgoi  *  Floating Effigy  06:02
21. Withering Presence  *  A Violet Sitting  03:21
22. Pod Cast  *  Pursuit of the Fireflies  07:12
23. Plaguegazer  *  I Only Exist in the Dark  07:24
24. Tarczownik  *  Chivalric Brotherhood  02:58
25. Uruk-Hai  *  Moriquendi  15:00

Being partial to a bit of Dungeon Synth, this new compilation inevitably has caused a little ripple of excitement in Castle Nazgul, hence this post.  It’s the first post for a while as you will doubtless have noticed.  Once again various ongoing events in the ‘real world’ outside of Nazgul’s realm have interjected themselves and led to a reduction in the volume of recent posts.

Apologies aside from my part, this is proposed as the first in a series of releases under the Shadowlore banner (hurrah!) with all artists contributing to the project (as opposed to some online sites who harvest material for free, reproduce it without permission, and reap the rewards).  In the words of the Shadowlore page, they “respecting the past, honouring tradition and carrying the torch”.

Uruk Hai has contributed a track to this compilation, entitled ‘Moriquendi’.  This may ring distant bells in the dark recesses of your mind, and if so it’s because it is a previously released song that appeared in Honour and Darkness back in June 2015 and featured as both a tape and 3” CD release.  You can remind yourselves of Nazgul’s original thoughts here, including a bizarre reference to Gandalf’s toilet door…

Nazgul is still working his way through the remainder of the songs here, though there is clearly much to be enjoyed and many new bands to be discovered which is, ultimately, the benefit of a release such as this.  At some point, the advertised t-shirt will be gathered into the fold of the Castle collection, so we may as well review that when that happy day comes rather than now.

Will this be the first and only post of November?  Or will there be more from Nazgul before the month is out?  Well, let’s hope it’s the former: I’ve got some rather nice photos of the recent convention tour that Hugin has been engaged on, and it would be quite appropriate to pop those up at some point for you when time allows, so let me commit to doing that at least in the weeks ahead….

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.