Sunday, 9 October 2016

Uruk Hai > DEFCON 1 logo

Title: It's not really a title: Let's call it the DEFCON 1 logo
So what is it, then? Well, a bit of fun, really, conjured from the hand of Hugin...

SPOILER ALERT: We are NOT at imminent threat of impending nuclear war...!
Here's something fun: an Uruk Hai themed DEFCON 1 logo!
You're immediately left wondering 'why', 'what', and - very possibly - 'when'?
The 'why' is straightforward enough: in Hugin's own words, it was just a joke to spread the DEFCON 1 message in the past as a means of promotion for the band.  This image appeared on Facebook a while ago, and no where else as far as Nazgul recalls.
The 'what' is a little more complicated, so bear with me: The defence readiness condition (DEFCON) is an alert state used by the United States Armed Forces. The DEFCON prescribes five graduated levels of readiness (or states of alert) for the U.S. military. It increases in severity from DEFCON 5 (least severe) to DEFCON 1 (most severe) to match varying military situations.
The DEFCON level is controlled primarily by the U.S. President and the U.S. Secretary of Defence through the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff and the Combatant Commanders, and each DEFCON level defines specific security, activation and response scenarios for the troops in question.
In general, there is no single DEFCON status for the world or country and it may be set to only include specific geographical areas.
Defence readiness conditions vary between many commands and have changed over time, and the United States Department of Defence uses exercise terms when referring to the DEFCONs. This is to preclude the possibility of confusing exercise commands with actual operational commands. On 12 January 1966, NORAD "proposed the adoption of the readiness conditions of the JCS system", and information about the levels was declassified in 2006:
DEFCON 1 - 'COCKED PISTOL': Nuclear war is imminent. Maximum readiness
DEFCON 2 - 'FAST PACE': Next step to nuclear war. Armed Forces ready to deploy and engage in less than 6 hours
DEFCON 3 - 'ROUND HOUSE': Increase in force readiness above that required for normal readiness. Air Force ready to mobilize in 15 minutes
DEFCON 4 - 'DOUBLE TAKE': Increased intelligence watch and strengthened security measures. Above normal readiness
DEFCON 5 - 'FADE OUT': Lowest state of readiness. Normal readiness
And so to the 'when'.  Be warned - should this logo appear on your computer screens as a sustained flashing image, then it's time to adopt to time honoured 'duck and cover' method of survival, and to kiss your ass goodbye... !

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.