Sunday, 17 February 2013


Inside of booklet lists each band's contribution - here is the Uruk Hai page
Title: Forsvunnet Filosofem - A Tribute to Burzum [V/A]
Reason for update: A physical 3CD release for the previously free digital download tribute compilation on the Wodfreca Soncræftas label (England), cat ref WOD004.
Edition: Believed to be 300 copies

Casting your memories back to 6 July 2012, you will recall that Uruk Hai appeared on the "Forsvunnet Filosofem" tribute album to Burzum that was made available on the Bandcamp site from Mirkwood Productions. It was suggested at the time that should there be sufficient interest a physical copy of this compilation might also be released, and indeed that has been the case.

Wodfreca Soncræftas are the label who have stepped into the breach to release this limited edition triple-disc set and a tidy job they've made of it too, with some nice new artwork and a thoroughly cold and frosty appeal pervading throughout. Actually on sale since late 2012 copies may be fairly hard to come by now, although the usual online sources will be worth a look if you are tighter than a duck's proverbial and would prefer the box-set in your hand to the download on your MP3 player. Indeed, in typing this Nazgul has just read on the Black Raven Design web-page the following snippet of news:

"Forsvunnet Filosofem - A Tribute To Burzum was due to be released by Wodfreca Soncræftas today (06 August 2012). However, since being made available to pre-order last Tuesday (31 July 2012), the limited edition 3-disc jewel case version of this 27-track compilation paying tribute to the work of Varg Vikernes has (incredibly) sold out - in just six days! For those who have missed out on this highly sought-after release, fear not… Forsvunnet Filosofem is still free to download from Mirkwood Productions…"

A veritable host of bands appear on this compilation alongside Uruk Hai, who cover the short song 'The Crying Ork'. Let's have a few shout-outs to bands who have appeared on these pages in various guises over the past years, as part of a reviewed split release and/or interview segment: we have Italian ambient legends Symbiosis, Forgotten Land, and the enigmatic but nevertheless excellent Dysonsphere.

And if you can't face flicking back in time to see what the line-up of the original download was, here it is again:

Disc 1
01. Symbiosis * Dauði Baldrs
02. Æþelruna * Ðæt þe Hwilum Wæs (Det Som Engang Var)
03. Uruk-Hai * The Crying Ork
04. Waldschrat * Black Spell of Destruction
05. Tamerlan * Die Liebe Nerþus
06. Hrafnblóð * War
07. Hoyland * Jesus Tod
08. Vørgum * I Heimr Heljar
09. Forgotten Land * Moti Ragnorokum

Disc 2
01. Melankolia * Det Tod Wuotans
02. Frostwork * Dunkelheit
03. Almófar * Han Som Reiste
04. Werther * Erblicket Die Töchter Des Firmaments
05. Soufferance * Hermoðr á Helferð
06. Garden of Grief * Glemselens Elv
07. Walden * Hvis Lyset Tar Oss
08. Nordfolc * Stemmen Fra Taarnet
09. Gorthorn * Illa Tithandi

Disc 3
01. Winternight * Balferd Baldrs
02. Alvheim * Et Hvitt Lys Over Skogen
03. Arboretus * A Lost Forgotten Sad Spirit
04. Skygge * Lost Wisdom
05. Dysonsphere * Channelling the Power of Soul into a New God
06. Antecantamentum * My Journey to the Stars
07. Kzag Bhat * Feeble Screams from Forests Unknown
08. Wrapped in a Sheet * Ea, Lord of the Depths
09. Plaguewielder * Tomhet

Now, it has to be said that there have been no shortages of tribute albums to Burzum over the years, which even a hermit such as Nazgul in his isolated castle has heard about: by way of example, the following spring to mind - Visions: A Tribute to Burzum (2002); A Man, a Band, a Symbol (2003); Wotan mit uns! (2003); The Tribute (2005); Burzum Tribute Attakk (2005); Triumph und Wille (2006); Lost Freedom (2007); A Hungarian Tribute to Burzum: Life Has New Meaning (2008); Tribute to Burzum: When the Night Falls - Bethlehem Struluckt (2009); and A Tribute to Varg Vikernes: Born to Be White (2010). And there will doubtless be a slew of others, of varying degrees of legitimacy and legality, knocking around the darker reachers of the Internet.

What sets one tribute compilation apart from another is the quality of bands on offer, the choice of songs covered (the 'obvious' ones not always being the best), and the packaging in which it comes. Wodfreca have clearly given this some thought on every level and whilst Nazgul can't claim familiarity with all of the previously mentioned compilations, it seems unlikely that any fan picking up this particular 3CD set will feel shortchanged.

Over the years Burzum musically progressed from primitive, raw black metal to classically influenced ambient music characterised by minimalist tendencies and dark atmospheres. The music is characterised by hypnotic repetition and simple yet profound song structures; this trademark sound has been present on Burzum's black metal and electronic albums alike. Similar themes are heard on Uruk Hai tracks, of course, which makes an inclusion from Hugin's band a logical shoe-in on this set. 

 Varg Vikernes has described Burzum as a kind of "spell" or recreation of an imaginary world tied in with Pagan history. Each album, he claimed, was designed as a kind of "spell" in itself, with each beginning song intending to make the listener more susceptible to "magic", the following songs to inspire a "trance-like state of mind", and the last song to carry the listener into a "world of fantasy" (dreams, for the listener would fall asleep - Burzum was supposed to have been evening music). 

Nazgul's ailing memory fails him again, as the edition number for this release eludes both his recollection and any immediate internet search.  I think there were but 300 copies produced, but should that prove to be incorrect a retrospective update will follow!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.