Thursday, 25 June 2009


Title: Und Wirklichkeit Erfüllt Die Seele Wieder
Format: CD release on the Black Attakk label (Germany), catalogue reference BA020, released on 7th June 2004. Top photo shows official release, second shows a monochromatic promo-only version which came with single sheet inlay and disc.
Edition: Unlimited

Track Listing:

1. Einleitung: Visionen & Fieberträume 02:34
2. Kinder der Nacht (Die Musik der Toten) 10:23
3. Unheilvolle Kreaturen im Mondlicht (Erster Blutzyklus) 04:19
4. Huren Dracula's (Zweiter Blutzyklus) 03:08
5. Fluss der Tränen - Elisabetha's Fluch (Eine Ode an die ewige Liebe) 09:52
6. Zurückgewonnene Jugend (Manifest des Blutes) 01:57
7. Kloster der Hoffnung (Bittersüss setzt ein das Leiden) 06:20
8. Verdorbene Erde (Furchtlose Krieger im Dienste des Meisters) 02:18
9. Das Totenschiff Demeter (Logbucheinträge aus dem Nebelmeer) 18:02
10. Der Wolf (Puls unendlicher Pein) 06:53

The literal translation of this title is "The soul fulfils and reality again" but I think that might be missing a few nuances somewhere on the way! Indeed the full title of this release is the rather monsterous "Und Wirklichkeit Erfullt Die Seele Wieder (Eine Vampyrische Lesung In Zehn Akten)" which is something to get your teeth around.

Incidentally, this was the first Elisabetha release Nazgul put his hands on - there are umpteen out there on eBay and Discogs as Black Attakk did a decent release for this album - so finding one is the least of your problems, for once!

Now, I must be honest with you - when Nazgul first clapped this CD on the death-deck many, many moons ago the first track put me off a bit. You see, it's a largely spoken word track (in German, with echo-effects) and being something of an Elisabetha 'virgin' at the time I'd not cottoned-on to their radio play approach to recording. I suspect I listened for a while, then switched off and listened to something else. Given the benefit of time - and an immersion in all things Elisabetha since then - I revisited this release again recently with a little trepidation and to my great surprise found it to be an absolute corker!! Lesson one for today, boys & girls - don't judge anything before giving it a fair trial.

Elements of this CD you may be familiar with - the last 3 tracks, for instance, are the 3 songs on the "Demeter" demo tape reviewed in March in this very Blog. Given the boost of digital sound they bolt out of your stereo like a tomcat with pepper-sauce on it's whatsits, and still remind Nazgul in places of old Status Quo (see past post for more!)....

Other parts are unique to this release, and are equally groovy and worth your time and effort. There's a riff at the beginning of track 2 (in fact, there's a lot of guitar on this album which gives the thing an unmistakable 'groove') that will tear your face off and lodge itself in your brain for the rest of the day, whilst the ambiance created through this release - be they melodious female choirs or the snarling sound of the 'Kinder der Nacht', solid-as-a-rock guitar and drum rhythms or quoted Bram Stoker narrative - will leave you impressed and craving more. Check out the beginning of 'Huren Dracula's' and tell me a more effective piece of ethereal music that you've come across recently?

Yes, there is a fair amount of spoken word pieces on this album in an echo-heavy style, but even given a total lack of the German language you can either soak up the atmosphere and let it wash over you or, if you prefer, hit the skip track button until you find a more musically driven moment to capture your imagination.

To do the latter, however, will dilute the experience and take away something of the Elisabetha experience, so I would suggest you play this through in its entirety and let it soak into your very won't let you down!

The promo version of this album was kindly sent to me by Alex, and fits very nicely in with the burgeoning collection Nazgul has accumulated...

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.