Friday, 8 May 2009


Title: Sterbegesänge
Format: Cassette only release by Hallucination Zine (Portugal) in 2001, catalogue reference HZ017
Edition: Limited to 1000 unnumbered copies

Track Listing:

01. Intro Elisabetha 05:31
02. Brief Dracula's an Jonathan Harker 05:17
03. Tanz der Vampire 05:42
04. Karpathen - Isten Szek! (Denn die Toten reiten schnell...) 13:14
05. Outro Ankunft Harkers auf Schlo§ Dracula 07:19
06. Elisabetha Pt. II 01:11
07. Blut 03:11
08. Hure 02:43
09. Im Mahlstrom der Zeit 12:50
10. Villa Carfax 03:54
11. hidden track 00:53

A cunning release, this one. Take the tracks from the highly praised (including a post in this Blog) Elisabetha debut "Durst Nach Unsterblichkeit", limited to only 100 copies and thus pretty rare, and combine with additional new tracks for a superior re-release with added bite!

Once more the Hallucination Zine (of Portuguese origin, although I confess I can't find out much about them from the Web) release a quality product with nicely produced inlay and informative sleeve notes. Where are they / Roberto Fernando now, you may ask - a good question, to which Nazgul can only shrug his shoulders and wonder too....

On the basis of past Blogs you will know that tracks 1,2,3,5, and 6 come from the aforementioned "Durst Nach Unsterblichkeit" demo, and consequently all other tracks are unique to this release. And yes, the new tracks fit into the Elisabetha canon of sound readily enough: jagged guitar riffs, spoken-word passages (quite possibly from the Bram Stoker novel itself) and disturbing keyboards make this a compulsive yet unsettling listen.

The inlay helpfully notes that track 3 'Tanz der Vampire' is part of the Atlantida Volume 11 compilation (not one that I currently possess), whilst tracks 7 through 11 "will continue the bloody adventures of Jonathan Harker in the weird castle of Count Dracula..."

Good, atmospheric ambient horror music - just the thing with a heavy red wine and strong cheese!!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.