Thursday, 19 March 2009


Title: Horproben 2007
Format: Paper-sleeve promotional CDr including business card advertising the band's MySpace web page, released 2007
Edition: Uncertain - release thought to be around 7 or 8 copies only

Track Listing:

01. Die Tiefe Blaue See 24.24
02. Hydra 7.07
03. In Jeder Glut Schlummert Ein Brand 5.19
04. 4 6.06
05. Desireless 4.56
06. Waves 4.00
07. Solaris II 8.42
08. Ich Tauche Tiefer 4.13
09. Die Flamenfee 7.30
10. Pulsar 5.36

Pre-dating the first full-length COI album "Der Rote Glanz Der Flammenfee" (2008) came this promo CDr, which includes some of the songs from that later album (tracks 3 and 10), a 'sequel' to the track 'Solaris' from the '08 release, and a cover image that is the mirror of that from the inside of the rear inlay of the full album. It also contains the web-single "Ich Tauche Tiefer" that was/is available via the band's MySpace pages.

This was my first taste of a lengthy COI experience, and it certainly raised a few eyes at work: where I'd normally be swooping past the security guards with the car windows down, stereo blasting out some pagan battle epic, now they heard me passing with a distinctly 'club-feel' Euro-pop motif...!

It's good stuff too - although I'm hardly an expert in the field there are elements in here that strongly remind me of Erasure and Kraftwerk, and it's all very catchy and groovy stuff. Different feels are generated within each track, so it's very much a varied promo. The first track is a bit of an epic 24 minute plus affair, that doesn't so much introduce you gently to the band as grabs you by the scruff of the neck and demands your attention.

Lots of good "neo classical dream pop" here, to coin a phrase, and one that you know you could stick on at a social gathering without giving granny a heart-attack or emptying the dance floor. A "thumbs-up" !

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.